The Carnegie Museum
The site was originally the location of Livermore butcher Peter McKeany’s slaughterhouse and corrals. The current building was constructed as the City’s Library through a grant from the Andrew Carnegie Foundation, local contributions, and City taxes. The Library’s doors first opened to the public in May of 1911. The building remained the City’s Library until 1966 when a new facility was constructed near the current Civic Center on South Livermore Street. The Livermore Heritage Guild has shared the Carnegie Building with the Livermore Art Association Gallery since 1974.
Check website for days and hours of operation or read more about the two non-profits who share this space below.
LAA Gallery & Gift Shop
We are a co-op of local artists covering many media, including 2D, 3D and jewelry art. We sell unique paintings (watercolors, acrylics and oils), gift cards, prints using quilled paper or pressed flowers, miniatures, one-of-a-kind pottery, glassware, jewelry, scarves, and purses that show off our artistic flair. Artists volunteer their time to keep prices reasonable.
The Livermore Heritage Guild
The LHG maintains the History Center Museum, archives and Book Store, inside the Carnegie Building at 3rd and K Streets. The LHG collects and preserves local historical artifacts, photos, and documentation. It is a resource for local history and family background research. A volunteer docent assists visitors.